HOW we start our day at L’Auberge de la Fenière….on bois du café.


How we start our day at L’Auberge…..

10 things you don’t learn in cooking school

1. You may be stationed next to the Salamander, in which case you will leave work each day completely wet from sweat.
2. Some “apprentices” work the lunch and dinner hours, 12-15 hours a day, six days a week.
3. Every day, I am asked to ciseler, hacher or emincer something! Brunoise cuts are very popular in France.
4. You will be asked to cut, prepare, mise stuff in massive quantities so do not be surprised if you are chopping chicken liver for hours.
5. At a Michelin starred restaurant, while speed is TRES IMPORTANT, it is even more important to treat EXPENSIVE ingredients with loving care, like scraping the mud off of truffles.
6.You will start at the bottom and have to show that you can do more than asked every day.
7. J’adore la FRANCE AND every day I find a reason why I love France as much as I do.
8. Family meals are over rated. It’s great to bond with your fellow colleagues but my friends insist I am eating Gastronomical meals every day. This is simply not true. However, I can TASTE whatever I want.
9. If you are working in a foreign country, I recommend to learn the kitchen equipment in that language before you arrive. For example, La PLANCHE is a cutting board. I have created my own dictionary of French equipment and terms.
10. Lastly, you might as well learn all the French swear words too or in whatever language is appropriate as this seems to be important to know. I could NOW swear like a French sailor!!!!

Note: Seems like all kitchens are designed for very tall people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Externship at La Feniere

2 Comments on “HOW we start our day at L’Auberge de la Fenière….on bois du café.”

  1. Olivier
    September 9, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    Hello Tasha, I am in Paris Right now, Well I see you are very happy , I am glad.
    Enjoy
    Olivier

    • September 9, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Olivier, I hope you will be able to come visit us in Puyricard!
      Tasha

Leave a Reply

